Wednesday, March 7, 2012

SCRUPLES

2. In a heated tennis match, your opponent returns a ball that looks out, but you’re not sure. If you win the point, you win the match. Do you call the ball out?

If it looks out, then it was out. If it looks in, it's in. You always have the final call. In this situation, I would call it out.   Even if I wasn't sure, I would call it out.  There is NO re-do's in tennis. It doesn't matter if I was winning the match or not- any time during the game I would call it how I see it.  Being the match point, I would feel bad of course if it turns out the ball actually was in, but I honestly call it how I see it.

It's hard to believe that I have played tennis for two years now. I personally have been in this actually situation a few times.  During practice I learned to call, right when it hits, and shout whether you thought it was in or out. For me, when it's a close call I always have to remember exactly how it hit, and use kind of a "replay" feature in my head. (Kind of like they have in tennis matches on TV.) Once I remember the exact spot it hit, I say it. I don't like to look like I hesitate when I call the ball. This season, when I would play, right before the actual match would start I would tell my opponent that I register the shot in my head before calling it.

My first match this year I played a girl who would always have awful calls.  At first I let them slide, because I was a nice person, and I was super nervous of my position.  She kept going to her coach to "pump her up."  Since it was my first match as a singles player (and well, in 1st position) I really had no idea what was going on.  I had played exhibition doubles the year before.  At first I started to beat her, then she caught up.  We kept getting really really close and the exhibition from my team was sitting on the grass watching me.  She had this shot that was completely out and I called it out.  She was like 'are you sure?', just kind of doubting my call.  I was offended because it was so far out, I turned to the people watching me and awkwardly asked them if they agreed with me -- they did.  Anyways I ended up losing the match. At the end we were so sweaty and it had been such a long game, the girl came up and hugged me and I was so proud of myself.  I hadn't cared that I lost just because I did such a good job, and I knew in my heart the girl cheated a bit here and there.

So my point is,  I am always honest with my calls.  I call it how I see it. I would call the ball out.

No comments:

Post a Comment